Spring Forward / Fall Back

In most parts of the United States, the clocks were changed last weekend for Daylight Savings Time. We spring forward and fall back. In my area of the country, this is conducive for running in the morning but not after work since the sun sets before 5:00 pm. The change required some adjustments; my running partner carried her phone with the flashlight on (neither of us were wearing reflective gear) and we stayed off major streets because the headlights made it difficult to see cracks in the sidewalk. The six mile run was slightly more challenging because of the vigilance required to keep from tripping. We had to pay attention to the road which was mentally draining.

~
My parents used to remind my siblings and me to “Think before you act.” They did this when we were angry, upset, and every time before we went out on a weekend night! Amending this slightly now as an adult, I try to “Pray before I act.” When I am unsure about a decision, one of my frequent prayers is from Psalm 105, “Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light to my path.”  “Show me the way” I ask God, “I can’t see the road ahead.” Often times, the way is revealed but only for the next step. It would be nice if God revealed more but that isn’t the way it seems to work. I just have to trust and try and do the next right thing.

For an interesting article on night running, check out
http://www.runnersworld.com/newswire/why-running-in-the-dark-feels-harder

One thought on “Spring Forward / Fall Back

  1. It seems it would be nice if God would reveal more than just the next step, but the trust and effort required of us who do not know what is to come is a beautiful act of humanity unifying itself to God by a free choice in ultimate glorification of who God is and how His goodness transcends anything material.

    ” Make your own the mind of Christ Jesus:
    6 Who, being in the form of God, did not count equality with God something to be grasped.

    7 But he emptied himself, taking the form of a slave, becoming as human beings are; and being in every way like a human being,
    8 he was humbler yet, even to accepting death, death on a cross.

    Like

Leave a Reply

